First joke after the election

Mamma skickade denna lilla vits till mig, och jag tyckte den var så bra att jag var tvungen att lägga ut den här!

One sunny day in January, 2009 an old man approached the White House
from across Pennsylvania Avenue , where he'd been sitting on a park bench. He
spoke to the U.S. Marine standing guard and said, "I would like to go in and meet with President Bush."
The Marine looked at the man and said, "Sir, Mr. Bush is no longer president and
no longer resides here." The old man said, "Okay" and walked away.

The following day, the same man approached the White House and said to the same Marine, "I would like to go in and meet with President Bush."
The Marine again told the man, "Sir, as I said yesterday, Mr. Bush is no longer president and no longer resides here." The man thanked him and, again, just walked away.

The third day, the same man approached the White House and spoke to the very same U.S. Marine, saying "I would like to go in and meet with President  Bush."
The Marine, understandably agitated at this point, looked at the man and  said,
"Sir, this is the third day in a row you have been here asking to speak to Mr. Bush. I've told you already that Mr. Bush is no longer the president and no longer resides here. Don't you understand?"
The old man looked at the Marine and said, "Oh, I understand. I just love hearing it."
The Marine snapped to attention, saluted, and said, "See you tomorrow, Sir."

 I love hearing it too !!!

 DON'T YOU???

Säsongens första snö

Här har snön äntligen fallit! Jag älskar snö! Det är nog det jag kommer sakna mest (efter familj och vänner såklart) när jag flyttar till varmare breddgrader. Kyla kan jag nog leva utan, om det inte finns någon snö att mildra den med. Jag känner mig lurad när det är kallt men ingen snö, det är som varm chocklad på bara kakao och vatten.

Zorro är nog gladare än vad jag är över det vita pudriga på marken, han flippade ute idag, sprang runt runt och dök ner med nosen i snön. Kameran var med, men lycka till att fånga vårt lilla yrväder på bild med min kamera.




First snow of the season

Nu är det julpyssel på g, får se vad jag kan få ihop i år. Har en hel lista på saker att göra, och på den finns ett minst sagt överambitiöst pepparkakshus. Återkommer med mer om detta.

SNÖ! 

The Final Countdown

As the the proud American I am, I have to write down my thoughts and opinions on the election tomorrow.  I recieved my ballots today, and after marking Obama / Biden I am going to the post-office to get a date and time stamp and to post it. It is as simple as that, and still so important. I could have thought that one vote, a late one at that, can't matter at all, but by doing so, I am actively giving away all right to criticize anything in The United States of America for the next four years to come. And if the outcome is what I hope for, it would not be thanks to me, and any celebration would feel hollow.

Tomorrow night, Swedish time, almost every swedish television-channel will report on the progress of the election and at least one of them will cheer openly when Obama takes the lead and boo at McCain. I have yet to meet a swede who hopes McCain will win. In fact, if McCain does win and become president, USA will probably be the most hated country in the world. A gigantic STUPID-stamp will be put right across every American's forehead. One of those was delivered when Bush got elected for a second term, how could they be so dumb? "Typical American", "stupid Americans" are phrases I hear, well, almost every day and Bush is largely to blame for that. Do we really want another one like him?

I am still proud to be American, although if McCain gets elected I will wonder if I really should be. When I move back to my home-country that I miss so much my heart breaks, I want it to be a better country, a democratic country.


RSS 2.0